Hip Hop Junkies April 2000

Download Hip Hop Junkies April 2000 (right click and select “Save Link As…” or “Save Target As…”), or listen here:


01.  Primeridian – Mental Void
02.  The Five Brothers – Believe In The Five
03.  Kardinal Offishall – U R Ghetto When
04.  People Under The Stairs – Code Check
05.  Mass Influence – Analyze
06.  Mass Influence – Life To The MC
07.  Phat Kat – Dedication To The Suckers
08.  Non Prophets – Bounce
09.  People Under The Stairs – Youth Explosion
10.  Kombo feat. Grap Luva – Time 4 A New Horizon
11.  Wayne Live feat. Nova Cain – Still Think U Jammin’?
12.  Rock Steady Crew feat. The Arsonists – Used To Wish I Could Break With Rock Steady
13.  Funky DL – People Don’t Stray
14.  Lacksidaisycal & Montana – Bitch Niggaz
15.  Mass Influence – All Out
16.  Phat Kat – Nobody Care About Us
17.  MF Doom – Doomsday
18.  MC Paul Barman – The Joy Of Your World

Hip Hop Junkies was a series of sampler mixtapes that I made for my friends… but mostly for myself.  This was the type of Rap music that I was really feelin’ back in the mid 1990’s and all the way through to the mid 2000’s.  In Japan, they called this stuff “Jazzy Hip Hop”, “Jazz Hop”, etc.

These were not complex, tracked mixes.  These were simple mixes, one-take per side, recorded live.  The focus was on the music, and not on the technical aspects.  I wanted to show how global this music had actually become, and how good the quality of this stuff was becoming.  These tapes included local acts from Detroit and Chicago, as well as groups from Los Angeles, New York, Atlanta, Tokyo, London, Copenhagen, etc.

April 2000 was the first “Hip Hop Junkies” mixtape.  Nothing but some Jazzy Rap stuff, with a dash of read-along book/record interludes added for good measure!

You can check out my other Hip Hop Junkies samplers here, here, and here.


Leave a Reply