Download JAZZ3000 (right click and select “Save Link As…” or “Save Target As…”), or listen here:


01.  Recloose – Welcome
02.  The Clifford Gilberto Rhythm Combination – Flagstaff’s Abstract (Linus’ Theme)
03.  Endemic Void – Serious Intent
04.  London Elektricity – Ultrasound
05.  The Pete Nice Trio – Flight Of The Vulture
06.  Recloose – Dislocate
07.  Luke Vibert – Slipped Disc
08.  Mr. Electric Triangle – A’Louma
09.  The Pete Nice Trio – Harp Of Gold
10.  Jimpster – Mind Paintings
11.  The Clifford Gilberto Rhythm Combination – I Wish I Was A Motown Star
12.  Funki Porcini – Surge
13.  Roni Size/Reprazent – Ballet Dance
14.  Fused Up – Impressions

I made “JAZZ3000” in 1998, right at the height of Roni Size‘s classic Reprazent album “New Forms“, right when Recloose released his first 12″ single on Planet E, just as Ninja Tune (represented in the mix by Clifford Gilberto Rhythm Combination, Luke Vibert, & Funki Porcini) was dethroning Mo Wax as the “go-to” label, and long before Hospital Records (represented in the mix by London Elektricity & Pete Nice Trio) became the giant that it is today.

Jazz radio programs are notorious for playing Smooth Jazz, Adult Contemporary Jazz, and so-called Contemporary Jazz Fusion.  It’s all just horrible, horrible stuff.  They never seem to have any idea as to what is actually “cool” or “happening”.  I mean, come on!  How could you totally miss the boat on the whole Acid Jazz craze!?!  Compared to the stuff that these Jazz stations play, the songs in “JAZZ3000” just might as well be from the year 3000… and that’s why I named it that way.


1 Response

Leave a Reply